City Tours Edinburgh

Click here to edit subtitle

We would like to ask you if you have been on one of our walking tours, if you would like to leave feedback please?
If so please click the link below and write a couple of sentences on either Tripadvisor or Facebook. Thank you on behalf of City Tours Edinburgh. 
May 2017 5*Star
Great tour of this old historic Kirkyard. There was so much information about it I was amazed. We heard about The Covenanters and the Prison, Greyfriars Bobby, Harry Potter , Haunted Greyfriars, this was a really great tour, well worth the money. I can recommend this one.
Craig, Edinburgh


April 2017
6 STAR This is a perfect tour for learning about the history of Edinburgh and Greyfriars Kirkyard. You learn about how the stories and lives of the people in old Edinburgh were interwoven. I particularly enjoyed hearing about the Covenanters and about Mary Queen of Scot's. Would highly recommend this tour.
Jim and Laura Stokes
Cambridge. UK


March 2017
5*****Great tour of this wonderful Kirkyard. Very knowledgeable guide. We learnt things we never knew about. If you want a historical tour with real information about the place then this is for you. No hurry and no shouting. We did all the Bobby, Harry Potter and the haunted bits and loads more in between. 
J P Russell
Leeds. UK

5* September 2016
Really nice private tour of Greyfriars. What a place! so amazing, loved the story about the Covenanters. Recommend you try this tour.
R Richardson
LA, USA

5* July 2016
Really loved this tour of Greyfriars, next time we are in Edinburgh we will go back here. Great tour guys and great afternoon tea.
Austin, TX. USA

5*July 2016
Had are really informative tour of Greyfriars Kirkyard. Did not know there was so much history in such a small place. Would really recommend this tour. We loved it.
John and Lindsay.
Manchester, England

5* June 2016
Our tour guide, Ciara, had wonderfully colorful stories about Greyfriars Kirkyard. She was an engaging storyteller and did not shrink from the macabre (but it was more fact-based than a ghost tour!). We had a great time and it was a wonderful way to see the cemetery. It allowed us to see a lot that we might otherwise have missed. A highlight of our stay in Edinburgh.
Ameliatd, Chicago, Illinois


5 *star January 2016
Thank you for organising the tour for us and the tea afterwards! Everybody enjoyed themselves and found the tour very interesting. Robert Burns Tour
Laura Mckinlay

Some of our reviews from TripAdvisor:

Reviewed 30 October 2015
The best city walking tour I have done. our guide Albert was great in the manner he talked about the town showing not only his knowledge but his passion for Edinburgh's history. I felt I had stepped back in time throughout the tour and could imagine how the city dwellers lived in the past. Visited Greyfriars Kirkyard, Grassmarket and many nooks and alleys of historic importance. Particularly fascinated by the story of Greyfriars Bobby and of Maggie who survived the hangman's noose and we got to have lunch in her pub after the tour. Takes around 2 hours and best if you have a smaller group. 
Chrissy, New Zealand

Reviewed 5th February 2015
I recently visited Edinburgh for the first time in January, it was my son's 16th Birthday, we booked everything long before we were due to go, I found this tour on-line as Greyfriars had been a recommendation from a friend. I found the guide to be welcoming and she knew her history, I never thought a graveyard could be this interesting, and it held our interest for the whole tour. Fascinating connections to Harry Potter and it was jam packed with information which gave an insight into the City of Edinburgh. This is a must do tour as it covers history, ghost and ghouls, it was well researched well presented and my son and I loved it :)
Ruby Lee. Manchester

“Greyfriars Tour”
Reviewed 15 December 2014NEW

I would just like to say we had a fantastic time wandering through the graveyard and listening to the history and stories that have come from there. It was very interesting to find out about a place that you walk past without consideration and certainly made us think more of the history of the graveyard and the area in general. There is a lot of history buried in the church yard, fact and fiction.

I would have no reservations in recommending your tours and will be mentioning it to friends. It was an enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours on a cold, wintery Saturday.

Visited December 2014

"In the heart of Edinburgh There sits Greyfriars churchyard.”
Reviewed 4 December 2014NEW

This was a most informative and interesting tour. I have lived in Edinburgh for many years but I learned so much in one and a half hours! The churchyard is steeped in history and even includes Greyfriars Bobby.
Thanks to our tour guide Caroline

Visited December 2014
Seasaidhm, Edinburgh

An extremely enjoyable, informative and entertaining tour of Greyfriars Kirkyard with the well informed Ciara as guide.
I would thoroughly recommend this tour to any one visiting Edinburgh.
Congratulations City Tours and thank you , Ciara.
11/11/2014
J.Stevenson Glasgow UK

Was thoroughly fascinated as we were shown around the graveyard by our lovely hostess Ciara.She explained everything about the history of the graves and the Kirk, was very informative and added a touch of Irish humour though not in a disrespectful way as we made our way through the grounds. Even though it was just my wife and myself who were there we certainly were informed about everything. Time passed by quick and the tour was over too soon.Would definitely recommend doing this tour as it is a lot different to the "spooky" tours on offer-here you learn a bit about our history.
William and Jane P.

Visited November 2014

"Excellent tour - highly recommend”
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Did tour of Greyfriars Kirk and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guide Fraser was brilliant being both interesting and educational. I come from Edinburgh and did not know half the stuff he told us. Would highly recommend tour especially if you want to avoid the tacky ghost type ones that most people do and actually hear about history. Thanks to Fraser for making it so good.

Visited October 2014
Mandy.B Polmont UK

"Greyfriars Kirkyard Tour”
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Our guide Fraser looked after us so well, even shared a coffee with us afterwards, very friendly and very knowledgable, he even took us to the normally out of bounds Street of Death. Thoroughly recommend this tour, the 2 hours just flew by.

Visited October 2014 
Dean.P Musselburgh UK





www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g186525-d6895674-Reviews-City_Tours_Edinburgh-Edinburgh_Scotland.html